West Kerry (@2.37) vs Legion (@1.72)

Our Prediction:

Legion will win

West Kerry – Legion Match Prediction | 30-09-2019 09:30

Kerry have won 37 All-Ireland Senior Football Championships and have been the losers in 20 other All-Ireland Football Finals. Pat Spillane received nine All Star Awards during his career, a feat matched by no other Gaelic footballer, while Tadhg Kennelly remains the only holder of both an AFL Premiership medallion and a Senior All-Ireland Championship medal, the highest respective possible honors in the sports of Australian rules football and Gaelic football, in addition to winning a GAA Medal as Irish Player of the Series in the International Rules Series. Kerry footballers have won some awards and hold numerous individual records in the sport.

They have won the competition on 37 occasions, including two four-in-a-rows (19291932, 19781981) and two three-in-a-rows (19391941, 19841986). Kerry are the most successful team in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship, topping the list of counties for All-Irelands won.

West Kerry

These animals are believed to have had a continuous presence in Ireland since the end of the last Ice Age (c. 10,000 BC) and are steeped in folklore. Kerrys fauna Red Deer (Fia Rua): Irelands largest wild animal whose only remaining native herd is found on the slopes of Torc and Mangerton.

Kerry quietly exited the 2010 and 2012 All-Ireland Senior Football Championships at the quarter-final stage, losing to Down and Donegal respectively, while Dublin defeated them in dramatic fashion on the last kick in the 2011 final.[19][20][21] Dublin were also responsible for their exit at the semi-final stage in 2013 in a closely contested classic match.[22] Kerry won their 37th, and most recent, All-Ireland title in 2014 against Donegal, winning by a margin of 2-09 to 0-12.[23] This win was notable due to Kerry's fairly young squad and a belief that Kerry were becoming unable to produce the talent they once had, after pundit Joe Brolly had suggested as such.[24] In the aftermath of the game, Kerry player Kieran Donaghy gave a famous interview in which he directly referenced Brolly's claim that the 'production line' in Kerry had stopped, with Donaghy speaking directly to the camera and asking 'Well, Joe Brolly, what do you think of that?'.[25] The next year, Kerry again reached the All-Ireland final, only this time to be comfortably beaten by Dublin, 0-12 to 0-9. Of the 15 All-Ireland finals between 1997 and 2011, Kerry contested ten and won six, including five titles in the 2000s. In 2006 and 2007, Kerry won consecutive All-Ireland titles (the first to do so since Cork in 1989 and 1990), while in 2009, they became only the third team to reach six consecutive All-Ireland finals (a feat last achieved by Dublin between 1974 and 1979), winning their 36th title by beating Cork in that final. Towards the end of the 1980s, Kerry went into decline and did not appear in an All-Ireland final for 11 years, between 1986 and 1997. The 1997 victory, however, would mark the beginning of a revival for Kerry which spanned roughly the first decade of the 21st century. The next two years saw Kerry bow out at the Semi-Final stage. However, in 2019 Kerry reached their first All-Ireland final for four years. In 2016, they were narrowly defeated by Dublin in a thrilling encounter, while in 2017 they were beaten by Mayo in a replay - their first championship defeat to Mayo in 21 years.[26][27][28] Kerry crashed out of the 2018 championships at the group stages of the new Super Eights format.

Champions Stacks Begin Title Defence Against St Michaels Foilmore

The club team to be relegated from the Senior County Championship will be the same team to be relegated from the Senior Club Championship. for 2019. The 8 senior clubs play off against each other in Round 1 of the Club Championship. The 4 losers enter a relegation playoff with the losers entering a relegation final. Should a club reach the final of the County championship they will be exempt from the Relegation process in the Club championship. This loser will be relegated to the I.F.C.

The 2018 Kerry Senior Football Championship was the 117th edition of Kerry GAA's premier gaelic football tournament for senior teams in County Kerry, Ireland. The tournament consists of 17 teams (8 club teams and 9 divisional teams), with the winners representing Kerry in the Munster Senior Club Football Championship if they are a club team. If the winners are a divisional team the winners of the Kerry Club Football Championship represent the county.

Following Tim's death later that year, he elected to return to Ireland and rejoin Kerry in 2009 in pursuit of winning an All-Ireland of his own playing for the county. The son of Tim Kennelly, a five-time All-Ireland winner with Kerry, and a former talented underage player with the county, he had joined the AFL's Sydney Swans and become the first Irish player to win an AFL Premiership in 2005 (the Swans' first in 72 years). After he succeeded and became the first player to have won an All-Ireland and an AFL Premiership, he returned to Australia and the Swans to finish his career. Kerry's 2009 title was also notable since it followed the return of Tadhg Kennelly.


They first made the semi-finals in 2009 where they lost out to Carlow after a replay. In 2011 they again made the final, but this time won the title with voctory over Wicklow. They went a step more in 2010 making the final but losing out to Westmeath. The advent of the Christy Ring Cup has seen Kerry become very competitive.

There are conflicting accounts of the jersey that Kerry wore in the first of the three games of the 1903 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final series with Kildare, but both accounts agree that the predominant colour was red. The reason that Kerry wore this red or mainly red jersey was that a new set of green and gold jerseys was not delivered in time for the game. Another account says that it was an entirely red jersey[7] with no green in it. One account says that it was a red jersey with green neck and cuffs,[4][6] which were the colours of the Tralee Mitchels junior football team.